Town of East Hampton, CT
20 East High Street, East Hampton, CT 06424
06/05/2008 Ethics Commission Minutes
Town of East Hampton
Ethics Commission Regular Meeting
Thursday, June 5, 2008
Eaton E. Smith Meeting Room – Town Hall
6:30 p.m.


Present:  Chairman James Scroggins, Vice Chairman Leroy Lawson, members Mary Carter and David Gizewicz, alternates John McBrearty and Mila Smith and Recording Secretary Cathy Sirois.

Call to order and Pledge of Allegiance:  Chairman Scroggins called the meeting to order at 6:32 p.m.  All stood to recite the Pledge of Allegiance.  

A motion was made by Mr. Lawson, seconded by Ms. Carter, to seat Mr. McBrearty to fill the open seat for this meeting.  Voted (4-0).

Approval of Minutes:
A motion was made by Ms. Carter, seconded by Mr. Gizewicz, to approve the May 1, 2008 Regular Meeting minutes as written.  Voted (4-0-1) Mr. Scroggins abstained.

Chairman’s Communications:
Mr. Scroggins reported that he has received two resignation letters; one from Mr. Fuka as of June 1, 2008 and one from Mr. Lawson as of June 27, 2008.  Both gentlemen are moving out of East Hampton. Mr. McBrearty commented that it has been a pleasure working with Mr. Lawson on the Commission.  Chairman Scroggins noted that Mr. Lawson and Mr. Fuka will be missed.

Chairman Scroggins will be attending the next Town Council meeting to discuss the open seats on the Commission.

Discussion of Administrative Procedures:  
A motion was made by Mr. McBrearty, seconded by Mr. Gizewicz, to cancel the July meeting unless a complaint is received.  So Voted (5-0).  The August meeting will remain on the schedule but if no business needs to be conducted at that time, the meeting will be cancelled.

Other Business to Consider:  
A motion was made by Mr. Scroggins, seconded by Mr. Lawson, to add an executive session to the agenda to discuss Ethics Complaint 2008-1.  So Voted (5-0).

The Commission exited Executive Session at 6:52 p.m.

Copies of correspondence for Ethics Complaint 2008-1 were returned from Mr. McBrearty and Ms. Carter.

A motion was made by Mr. McBrearty, seconded by Mr. Lawson, to adjourn the meeting at 6:55 p.m. Voted (5-0).

Respectfully submitted,

Cathy Sirois
Recording Secretary